Confession #4: I want to be a hipster.

Psst… This is part of a series: Part 1 here, 2 here, and 3 here.

Confession #4: I am such a hipster wannabe.

I am not this person.

It’s true. I wish I were hipster. They look so cool, drinking their soy lattes from independent coffee stores as they blog about taking down the establishment on their MacBook Pros… And despite the fact that I bought a pair of Toms for my birthday this year, I still fall woefully short of true hipster standards.

I’d love to think of myself as edgy, artsy, and intellectual. Sadly, I have a few things holding me back from embracing true hipster-ness.

I present the evidence:

1. If I wear thick-rimmed glasses, it’s because I actually need them. And the glasses I have are not big enough to overwhelm my face in true hipster fashion.

2. I don’t own a nice SLR camera with removable lenses. And I dislike traditional camera film. I think digital cameras are amazing.

3. I still love American Eagle. I can try to claim ironic preppiness, but let’s be honest, who is going to buy that? There is nothing ironic about my love of good old AE (that’s right, we’re so tight, I use a nickname for it).

4. I’ve never gotten the scarf thing down. When I wear a scarf it’s made of wool, its from Ireland and my sister got it for me. It’s not a light, plaid thing that I wrap around a t-shirt.

5. I do not own ANY Apple products. My music player is a Zune. My computer is a Dell that has a broken battery, so it only works when plugged into the wall. And my work computer is a Lenovo. My phone is some HTC Android phone that ramdomly decides to turn itself off and back on.

6. I’ve never shopped at Whole Foods or Urban Outfitters. And thrift stores hate me.

The situation appears hopeless, but maybe, just maybe despite these hindrances, I will one day be able to join the movement.

How about you? Do you consider yourself hipster? or are you so hipster that you’re above such an establishment thing as the label of hipster?

Let me know in the comments!

Image credits:

First One

Second One

Leave a Reply

