J&R’s Fantastic Salads

For dinner on Sunday, John and I made salad. This meal was perfect for us because we were able to personalize the salad to our preferences.

The meal prep started by me rinsing off and  ripping up romaine lettuce for our salad base. John said, “Let me know if you need any help,” and sat at the kitchen table, reading his book.

I replied, “Well, it is a lot of vegetables to cut up.” I waited for him to jump up and help me. But John just nodded, no movement. Darn him and his need for direct communication. So, I tried again. “John, I need help.”

“Oh, okay,” John says and jumps out of his chair. “What do you want me to do?”

So, John cut up an apple for our salad base while I cut up the carrot and green pepper. Then, John cut up a cucumber and I cut up a tomato. We put these in bowls since John doesn’t like tomatoes and I’m not crazy about cucumbers.

Then we set the table:

I used our new salad spinner that we bought at Target on Saturday, Salad Claws given to me by Jackie Hughes at my shower, my julienne peeler (on the carrots!) and various knives and cutting boards.

We served up our own salads and even though we were eating basically the same meal, they came out very differently.

Here is John’s plate:

And here is my plate:

Blessings on my new husband for being so patient with me taking pictures of our food every night…

In the future, John and I agreed that blocks of cheddar cheese would be a good addition to this meal (making it less healthy) and so would avocado (making it more healthy!). So our additions would balance out, right? That’s how it works?

And… courtesy of Anne Stiffler.

John chopping a carrot at age 11

John’s training at cutting vegetables. I give him a 10 for enthusiasm. :)

4 thoughts on “J&R’s Fantastic Salads

  1. Dave needs direct communication too. “Let me know if you need help” is a literal statement. They are perfectly willing to help, they just don’t realize you need help till you ask. I wonder if it’s genetic or just a guy thing….

    • haha. Yeah, and I grew up in a family with very little direct communication. When I was supposed to unload the dishwasher, my dad would tell me, “Rose, the dishwasher needs to be unloaded.” That doesn’t fly with John. haha.

  2. Yum! That looks delish! I might need to steal this idea. We always have the “certain people don’t like certain things” situation at our table with salads. You had me cracking up at the whole communication thing.

    (Came by from Ranelle’s.)

Leave a Reply

