Rose Learns to Cook

On Tuesday, I made a second meal for John and I, thanks to my mom who provided the ingredients.

For my second meal I decided to use my deep-covered baker and make this recipe:

Three Cheese Mac and Cheese

I knew the meal would be more time consuming, so once we got home from YMI, I told John to eat a snack while I got the food ready. It took me about an hour to make the meal. The recipe said I should have taken 45 minutes, but I end up going slower due to my “not really knowing what I’m doing” -ness.

John opted to practice clarinet while I made the meal.

Lessons Learned:

  1. Gruyere is a great-tasting cheese that SMELLS AWFUL. John and I agreed that we would substitute another cheese for it. We’ll try Parmesan cheese next time.
  2. Pay attention to the sauce! I got distracted by grating the cheese and burnt the flour and milk base.  It starting boiling and I burnt my arm pretty good when it popped out onto me. I started screaming for John to help me over his clarinet playing. Luckily, he heard me, and helped finish grating while I ran my arm under cold water and spooned out the burnt part. It was fine, but next time I will pay much closer attention.

The finished product

John and I both liked the meal as a whole despite the smelliness of it. The leftovers are almost gone now, so overall meal = success.


4 thoughts on “Rose Learns to Cook

  1. You’re awesome girl! I always add time to what the recipe says – even after 30 some years of cooking. I NEVER can get it down to the stated time. Sorry ’bout your arm. I have recipies that I’ve made notes in after we’ve had them for the first time. The individual touch is a good thing! Keep on cookin’!

    • haha, yeah, it totally messes me up when the ingredients list “8 oz shredded white cheddar cheese.” Well, I have a block of cheese, so it’s going to take time to get my ingredients to how the recipe starts with them! Yeah, I’ve been making notes in the recipes as I go.

  2. Yay Rose! I like the storytelling. :) I made the tostada meal tonight and it was yummy. I also add time to the recipe cook time – especially Rachel Ray recipes – I almost have to double the time on hers! I think I chop vegetables slow.

    • Oh sweet! It looked like a good meal. Yeah, I chop vegetables pretty slow. Especially with how little counter space our apartment has. I have to be more careful while working in a smaller space. I’m glad you liked the story :)

Leave a Reply

